top of page

Blog #5: 9/22-9/29

Well, my first three interviews are done. I am so incredibly happy with this week. I met so many amazing, incredible, intelligent people who are so willing to help and who are extremely welcoming. On Tuesday, I met Dr. Gary Schwartz, a thoracic surgeon in Dallas, who was so kind and willing to help my research. I saw two of his patients in the Intensive Care Unit, one who was bleeding out of her stomach feeding tube, and the other a patient who was in respiratory failure from influenza. I was amazed at how good of a leader that Dr. Schwartz was in talking to his residents and students. On Wednesday, I met Dr. Steven Schierling, a general surgeon in Irving. Dr. Schierling was very informational about politics and minimally invasive surgery which was very eye opening, considering that I had had no knowledge of politics in the medical perspective. I also got to use The Da Vinci Surgical Machine to try and manage it through games and surgical stimulations. It was very hard to use for my coordination skills - I had a much easier time with using my actual hands. On Friday, I met a trauma surgeon named Dr. Michael Truitt. Dr. Truitt was incredibly intelligent, very supportive, and showed great leadership in his position. He took liberty in teaching his resident students and showed me around almost the entire hospital. We also attended to a convention that was only being held once a year. Dr. Truitt was a very passionate person, which was very infectious to me. Overall, this week went amazing and I am so glad to have met such amazing people. This week, I will be working on my research assessments and sending out the rest of my Thank You cards to the very nice doctors that were willing to meet with me.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page