top of page

Blog #1: 8/21-9/3

My first two weeks in ISM hit me like a truck. I became super overwhelmed with how the class is structured. Contrary to what most classes are structured like, this course turned out to be completely self-guided. My instructor, Miss Goff, spent about fifteen to thirty minutes explaining what was expected of us every class, which was greatly appreciated on my end. After I started doing some of the assignments, my anxiety was relieved: I learned how much work typically came with each week, and I realized how much time in class I had to do it. The second week, I made a speech about my topic that I had chosen: surgery. The students who were in their second year of ISM spoke first, and their speeches were amazing. As soon as I got up to make my presentation, I began to breathe really fast and I could feel the nervous jitters take over. As soon as I got out of my own head, I became glad that I was up there speaking for my peers. I am grateful that I had the opportunity to make a speech, and I feel like it will be beneficial to me going forward. After completing my first Research Assessment, the hardest thing to do was to find an article that could help my knowledge and to annotate it on my computer. I am aware of what to look for now in an article, and I have all the necessary tools to complete my assessment. In this next week, I want to go more in depth with the things that I am researching, including learning more terminology. I truly think that if I am continuing to keep myself accountable, I can be successful in this course.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page